Issues with Interactive Brokers Gateway

Well this doesn’t give me warm fuzzies, but I thought that I would share.  IB does its nightly reset at 9pm PDT at which time the Trader Workstation (TWS) and IB Gateway will briefly lose their connections to the server.  After a few seconds the apps reconnect and everything goes fine.

Tonight however when I returned to my computer at about 9:30pm PDT, both TWS and IB Gateway were prompting me to re-enter my username and password.  Which means that Arb Trader was not connected to IB monitoring its trades because somehow I had been logged out.

I entered my username and password in both TWS and IB Gateway.  TWS reconnected, but I didn’t check the Gateway because I had assumed it has as well.  After about 20 minutes I cleared my desktop to find IB Gateway frozen (screenshot below).

I don’t think that this is a condition that can be programmed for except to send me a notification that the connection has gone bad.  I had to shutdown the IB Gateway and restart it in order to get the Arb Trader application to connect to it again.

image

2 thoughts on “Issues with Interactive Brokers Gateway

Leave a Reply

